Mayor Swears In Sixteen Special Law Enforcement Officers

Carteret, NJ – Mayor Daniel J. Reiman swore in sixteen Special Law Enforcement Officers (SLEOs) to the Carteret Police Department at the Borough’s Thursday night Council meeting. The officers, along with four SLEOs already employed by the Borough, will add extra patrols to Carteret’s neighborhoods, parks, waterfront, and shopping centers.

“The safety of Carteret’s residents and visitors is a top concern of my administration and the Borough Police Department,” said Mayor Reiman. “With all the large events and community activities we have planned throughout the Summer months, added patrols will add an extra level of security and bolster our strong Police force.”

Class II SLEOs have the same powers and duties as full time officers, but are limited to work forty-eight hours per week for six months and a set amount of hours per week for the remaining six months. They also must wear a shoulder patch designating their Class II rank.

 Class II officers sworn in Thursday night include:

Off. Gerard  Kelly

Off. Michael Kelly

Off. Jason Abrantes

Off. Anthony Dos Santos

Off. Alexander Martins

Off. Michael Montenegro

Off. Amitoj Oberoi

Off. Kulbeer Singh

Off. Michael Calafiore

Off. Michael Simkovich

Class II officers sworn in prior to Thursday include Off. John Tranculov and Off. Kevin Horn.

Class I SLEOs will perform duties in accordance with the requirements set forth in N.J.S.A. 40A:14-146.11, which states “Class One Special Law Enforcement Officers shall be authorized to perform routine traffic detail, spectator control and similar duties. If authorized by ordinance or resolution, as appropriate, Class One officers shall have the power to issue summonses for disorderly persons and petty disorderly persons offenses, violations of municipal ordinances and violations of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes. The use of a firearm by an officer of this class shall be strictly prohibited and no Class One officer shall be assigned any duties which may require the carrying or use of a firearm.”

Class I officers sworn in Thursday night include:

Off.  Harpreet Kaur

Off. Alexander Pires

Off. Yeudy Rodriguez

Off. Daniel Sanfilippo

Off. Zhane Cintron

Off. Anthony Spinelli

Class I officers sworn in prior to Thursday include Off. Ramandeep Kaur and Off. Mitchell Smith.

For more information about the Carteret Police Department, please visit or call (732) 541-4181.

Call Us at (732) 541-3801 | Open Mon-Fri 8:00a - 4:00p